“I Don’t Want to Survive, I want to Live.”

“I Don’t Want to Survive, I want to Live.” – Captain [Wall -E] 

I feel like this is such as “controversial” topic because everyone has their childhood Disney moments. Like I grew up watching Finding Nemo and wearing my Nemo costume at my pre- school Christmas party then there was my elementary version of myself crying watching Wall -E. Oh yeah, growing up being represented as Mulan. The Legendary Lion King or wishing I had a magic carpet or being obsessed with my Buzz Light Year figurine that had lasers “real lasers” or even a pet like stitch or family like the incredibles. Yeah,  that was me. I just wanted to share that because initially I wanted to make a post about my favourite disney/pixar films but I came across something much more meaningful to write about.

pixar-logo.jpg

What is surviving? and What is Living?

Yes, everyone can answer that surviving is denying death or ‘living’ on the bare minimum, trying to oppose death at all costs – staying away from hunger, thirst and life threatening things. Whereas, Living is growing and achieving hence it is focused on improving. Surviving is how not to die 101 yet living is how to embrace life to the fullest 101.

Both of these things have the same result, they both lead to us living longer but the quality and value of our journey from birth to death is determined by how we view ourselves and our life. Are you surviving each day just because or are you evading death for as long as you can? Why not do all you can while your alive. I mean it pointless really to just survive. To just get accepted  into this rat race. Just to reward yourself with a 9-5 office job, saving for your children’s college tuition fees and saving a couple cents here and there for your dreading lack of retirement pension. Some people might argue that being able to see their children graduate at good university and land a stable job as a doctor or lawyer is your dream. However, that is also accepting this rat race and rewarding the next and the next and the next generation. What about you now? What about when you were a child –   “Mum, I want to be a …… ”  – those dreams are the purest of them all at the time when no one ingrained in your brain that you had do this or accomplish at by the age of 25.  We’re all going to die – Isn’t better to live now and die content that you lived a life fully lived – happy than already resigned to death and the rat race.

Yes, there are third world countries that don’t get our opportunities and to drive you, I’m sitting writing is post on a comfy chair on my Macbook while a newborn is gasping for unpolluted air on the other side of the equator.  My point is that for the humans like us that can read this right now – is don’t just survive but live please. So maybe one day, one of us can make a difference in this big, big world.

To asian families like my own and being an only child, a dream like this might sound selfish but in the end you can only set your yourself and child for so much – you can pay of all tutoring fees and piano classes before they could even talk. You could make them believe that they always need to be 1st place and by achieving this you are able to protect them from all of life’s cruelty and the hurtful truth of world. By sugar-coating the truth, the more it’s going to hurt when they are older and they realise they aren’t what you set them out to be.

Being mindful, I’m always grateful of all the opportunities given to me by my parents who are a first- generation immigrant family. Both my parents are quite freedom- seekers despite both coming from strict families “Chaebeol families” ( had to add a k-drama reference) where they both would have lived flourishing and prosperous lives back at home.I’m proud and grateful to have grown up in an environment where everything was set and dusted. ( I have been through hardships and difficult times – life is not a fairytale you know)  Yet, my parents worked hard and ignored their status to build an entirely new one that is filled with even more opportunity than theirs. My parents obviously want the best for me like all the other parents in universe. I’ve realised that I’m not all they set out for, I like to think of myself as a filial and a good daughter but I have flaws just like every other human on the planet. I do pretty well in school but I’m not 1st place all time – probably not even near, its not like I’m going to be a Doctor or anything but I do want to make my little footprint on this earth at least. My parents always say that I’ve got a lot backing me up and as long as I’m there and run their conglomerate of businesses. When it’s the truth and they eventually they would want me to do that later in life. I don’t want to be “spoon-fed” or known as trust fund baby. I want to do things on my own and achieve and grow knowing a tried my hardest to get there and be in that position. My first action to this was getting a part time job and being dedicated and passionate about my goals, my own goals.

Putting my life goals aside there,

  1. Be true to who you are. Stop trying to please other people or be someone else. It’s better to be an original version of yourself than an exact duplicate of someone else.

  2. Focus on WHAT vs. How. Focus on WHAT you want first, before you think about HOW to do it. Anything is possible, as long as you set your mind, heart and soul to it.

  3. Discover your life purpose. Set the mission statement for your life; one that will drive you to life your life to the fullest.

  4. Do the things you love, because life is too precious to spend it doing anything else. If you don’t enjoy something, then don’t do it. Spend your time and energy on things that bring you fulfillments and happiness.

  5. Discover your passion in life. What sets you on fire? Go out there (and explore inward) to know what you love to do.

just-cause.jpg

 

Here, comes the end of a post. By no means, I’m I a parent or I’m up to that stage in life – like I’m still lacking a lot of life experience but these were really just my opinion on what I observed around not watching TV shows but being in business all the time – I might have developed some thoughts if you understood that.  I just hope that anyone who is given the opportunity to thrive is doing so, not because they have to but because they are truly living.

“to infinity and beyond” – Buzz LightYear

-seadra9on

 

Leave a Reply

